VP8 和 H.264 之间的区别以及如何转换它们

珍妮菲亚伦 珍妮菲亚伦
8月11日, 2022 (更新: 12月19日, 2022)提交给: 知识

最流行的视频编解码器包括 VP8 和 H.264,关于哪个比这两种视频编解码器更好的争论一直存在。 VP8主要针对体积更小加载速度更快的WebM视频。而 H.264 始终用于 MP4、MKV、MOV 和其他视频容器。而最新的 iPhone 14 已经使用了这种视频编解码器。别担心,本文将告诉您 VP8 和 H.264 编解码器之间的实际区别,以便您可以根据需要选择视频编解码器。

第 1 部分:什么是 VP8 和 H.264 - 简介

什么是VP8

VP8 是一种开放的视频压缩格式,于 2010 年 5 月发布。

VP8 仅支持具有 4:2:0 色度子采样和每个样本 8 位的逐行扫描视频信号。在其第一个公开版本中,On2 的 VP8 实现支持多核处理器。与 H.264 相比,VP8 的分辨率相对较低。该格式具有纯模式,即仅使用不带时间预测的独立编码帧,以在视频编辑等应用中启用随机访问。

什么是 H.264

H.264 项目旨在创建一个标准,以比以前的标准更低的比特率提供良好的视频质量,同时不会增加设计复杂性以至于实施起来不切实际或成本高昂。这是通过许多功能实现的,例如复杂性降低的整数离散余弦变换、可变块大小分割和多画面画面间预测。

H.264 编解码器的另一个目标是提供足够的灵活性,以允许该标准适用于各种网络和系统上的各种应用,包括低比特率和高比特率、低分辨率和高分辨率视频、广播、 DVD 存储、RTP/IP 分组网络和 ITU-T 多媒体电话系统。 H.264 通常用于有损压缩,但也可以在有损编码的图片中创建真正的无损编码区域,或者支持整个编码是无损的罕见用例。

第 2 部分:VP8 VS。 H.264:这两种编解码器之间的比较

这两个文件之间有很多差异,并且有一个关于 VP8 与 H.264 的表格。您可以详细了解质量、使用情况和兼容的视频格式等。

特征H.264VP8
兼容的视频格式MP4、MOV、AVI、MKV主要用于 WebM 格式。
质量相对较高的质量,最大 2K 分辨率。平均质量降低 20–30%。
文件大小比 VP8 大,但仍然足够小,可以保存。比大多数文件小,提供更快的加载速度。
支持的播放器Windows、Mac、Android、iPhone 和其他便携式设备上的几乎所有媒体播放器。可在带有 HTML5 播放器的浏览器上播放。专业视频播放器。

比较编码时,VP8 的编码速度也降低了 5-25 倍。例如,x264 高速预设比任何 VP8 预设平均速度更快且质量更高。

VP8几乎没有硬件加速,所以在某些情况下会占用更多的CPU。 H.264 在苹果设备上有硬件加速,包括 iPhone 14、PC 和三星、索尼等所有安卓手机。至于谷歌浏览器,它并没有真正在 WebRTC 中使用 H.264。所以VP8其实是网站上使用比较广泛的。

第 3 部分:如何将 VP8 转换为具有更高兼容性的 H.264

VP8和H.264的比较如上;您可以选择满足您要求的视频编解码器。如果您想将一种视频编解码器转换为另一种,您可以使用 AnyRec Video Converter 在视频编解码器之间进行转换。

视频转换器
AnyRec Video Converter

转换视频格式,同时根据需要更改详细的视频编解码器。

能够将 M4A 转换为 MP3、MP4 转换为 WAV、MOV 转换为 GIF、MKV 转换为 MP4 等等。

支持高质量,包括高清、4K UHD、5K,甚至是高质量的8K。

更改视频质量、编码器、分辨率、帧速率、比特率和其他设置。

免费下载

100% 安全

免费下载

100% 安全

第1步点击 添加文件 按钮导入您的视频或音频文件。或者您可以将文件拖放到主界面中。

导入视频

第2步点击 全部转换为 右上角的按钮选择您选择的输出格式。您也可以单击视频/音频文件右侧的格式图标。

选择视频格式

第 3 步您可以在调整选项卡中调整视频编码,您可以单击 自定义配置文件 按钮。它位于此格式配置文件的右侧。在里面 编辑个人资料 窗口,有一个编码器选项,您可以调整视频编码。

编辑视频资料

第四步之后,回到主界面,点击 全部转换 按钮开始在 H.264 和 VP8 之间进行转换。

转换视频

第 4 部分:关于 VP8 和 H.264 的常见问题解答

结论

在比较 VP8 和 H.264 之后,您可以看到使用最新的 x264 编码的 H.264 提供了明显更高的质量,同时编码速度几乎是使用最新的 Libvpx 产品编码的 VP8 的两倍。为了获得更好的视频质量,H.264 是更好的视频编解码器,即使在最新的 iPhone 14 和三星 Galaxy 上也是如此。如果你想改变视频的编解码器, AnyRec Video Converter 将是您使用的更好选择。

免费下载

100% 安全

免费下载

100% 安全

相关文章

AnyRec Video Converter

Convert, edit, and compress videos/audios in 1000+ formats.

What are the VP8 and H.264: Here are the Differences Between Them

Jenefey Aaron Posted by Jenefey Aaron Oct 31, 2022

The most popular video codec includes VP8 and H.264, and there is always a debate about which is better in these two video codecs. VP8 is mainly for WebM videos, which has a smaller size and faster loading speed. While H.264 is always used in MP4, MKV, MOV, and other video containers. Don’t worry, this article with tell you the actual differences between VP8 and H.264 codecs so that you can choose your video codec as you like.

Part 1: What are VP8 and H.264 - Brief Introduction

What is VP8

VP8 is an open and royalty-free video compression format released in May 2010 after Google acquired On2 Technologies. Google provided an irrevocable patent promise on its patents for implementing the VP8 format.

VP8 only supports progressive scan video signals with 4:2:0 chroma subsampling and 8 bits per sample. In its first public version, On2's VP8 implementation supports multi-core processors with up to 64 cores simultaneously. Compared with H.264, VP8 has a comparatively lower resolution. With only three reference frame buffers needed, VP8 enables decoder implementations with a relatively small memory footprint. The format features a pure mode, i.e., using only independently coded frames without temporal prediction, to enable random access in applications like video editing.

What is H.264

The intent of the H.264 project was to create a standard capable of providing good video quality at substantially lower bit rates than previous standards, without increasing the complexity of design so much that it would be impractical or excessively expensive to implement. This was achieved with features such as a reduced-complexity integer discrete cosine transform (integer DCT), variable block-size segmentation, and multi-picture inter-picture prediction.

An additional goal of H.264 codec was to provide enough flexibility to allow the standard to be applied to a wide variety of applications on a wide variety of networks and systems, including low and high bit rates, low and high resolution video, broadcast, DVD storage, RTP/IP packet networks, and ITU-T multimedia telephony systems. H.264 is typically used for lossy compression, although it is also possible to create truly lossless-coded regions within lossy-coded pictures or to support rare use cases for which the entire encoding is lossless.

Part 2: VP8 VS. H.264: Comparison between These Two Codecs

There are so many differences between these two files, and there is a table about VP8 vs H.264. You can learn more about the quality, usages, and compatible video formats, etc.

Features H.264 VP8
Compatible Video Formats MP4, MOV, AVI, MKV Mostly are used in WebM format.
Quality Relatively high quality with the maximum 2K resolution. 20–30% lower quality on average.
File Size Larger than VP8, but still small enough for saving. Smaller than most files, which provides a faster loading speed.
Supported Player Almost all media player on Windows, Mac, Android, iPhone, and other portable devices.
Playable on browsers with HTML5 player.

Professional video players.

When comparing the encoding, VP8 also shows 5–25 times lower encoding speed. For example, x264 High-Speed preset is faster and has higher quality than any of the VP8 presets on average.

VP8 has almost no hardware acceleration, so it uses more CPU in some cases. H.264 has hardware acceleration on Apple devices, PCS, and Android. As for Google Chrome, it doesn't really use H.264 in WebRTC. So VP8 is actually the more widely used on websites.

Part 3: How to convert VP8 to H.264 with Higher Compatibility

The comparisons between VP8 and H.264 have been listed above; you can choose which video codec meets your requirements. And if you want to convert one video codec to another, you can use AnyRec Video Converter to make a conversion between the video codecs.

Video Converter
AnyRec Video Converter

Convert video formats while changing the detailed video codec as you like.

Able to convert M4A to MP3, MP4 to WAV, MOV to GIF, MKV to MP4, and much more.

Support high quality, including HD, 4K UHD, 5K, and even 8K with high quality.

Change video quality, encoder, resolution, frame rate, bitrate, and other settings.

Free Download

100% Secure

Free Download

100% Secure

Step 1Click the Add Files button to import your video or audio files. Or you can drag and drop your files into the main interface.

Import Video

Step 2Click the Convert All to button from the top right corner to select which output format you choose. You can also click the Format icon on the right side of your video/audio file.

Select Video Format

Step 3And you can adjust the video encode in the adjust tab, you can click the Custom Profile button. It locates on the right side of this format profile. In the Edit Profile window, there is an encoder option which you can adjust the video encode.

Edit Video Profile

Step 4After that, go back to the main interface and click the Convert All button to start converting between H.264 and VP8.

Convert Video

Part 4: FAQs about VP8 and H.264

Conclusion

After the comparison of VP8 and H.264, you can see that H.264 encoded with the latest x264 offers notably higher quality while encoding almost twice as fast as VP8 encoded with the latest Libvpx offering. For better video quality, H.264 is a better video codec. And if you want to change the codec of a video, AnyRec Video Converter would be a better choice for you to use.

Free Download

100% Secure

Free Download

100% Secure

Related Articles